Yoga changed me

The Yoga Experience.

It was about 8 – 9 years ago I decided to practise yoga.

I search the web for a yoga studio that makes me go ” This is the place”. I came across a place called “Maya Yoga Samudraa”. The perfect place for me to learn and start my practise. Here’s my story and journey with Aman Merican who is from a direct lineage from yoga practitioners.

The reason I chose Maya Yoga Samudraa is because of it’s aura.

Definitely not the first website I read but it’s the first place I entered. I don’t know why but it’s always a thing for me to always visit the place first to feel its aura.

It has good energy and positive vibes. It’s tranquility and calmness draws me into signing myself up for their private sessions. I chose private sessions because I get a little more flexibility with the time slots.

It was extremely tough at first. OMG! I never knew I was this stiff to begin with. I was sweating like a pig on our first 10 minutes stretching. Dayuuummm, It’s just yoga stretches, not jumping jacks… blew my mind completely.

I got so interested in yoga and dragged my sister along to join so we can have partner poses sessions. My excitement got her excited to sign up as well but that didn’t last for her. She’s not a yoga person. Anyway, I still continued my sessions with Aman.

I had so much “why” & “what” questions. Aman Merican practises “Hatha & Rāja Yoga” with over 18 years of experience since he was a child. I’m still learning and not yet a pro. I have not achieve my goals and flexibility that I desire.

After a few classes, I started to get busy with work, requires a lot of travelling and missed a lot of my classes. I finished as many as I can and I had to take a break from classes. Took a long break and return after a year.

Completely shut down from yoga during that period. Procrastinating and I was just being plain lazy. Using work as an excuse. So, when I return, we had to start over again, but this time, I continue to practise at home.

It wasn’t a whole 8 years of yoga journey for me. I started and stopped, started again and stopped, then started again in year 2017 until today. Still doing my practise 3-4 times a week stretching those tendons, hoping to achieve the flexibility that I desire as soon as possible.

I’ve embraced meditation 3 years ago and it has been a wonderful and calm journey for me. Maya Yoga Samudraa studio shut down a couple of years ago but his brand is still going on strong.

Now he brings yoga to your door step. Home Yoga…. Hmmmm, I’m loving it.


P/S : I am no guru or whatsoever. I am not a yoga teacher neither I’m asking anyone to follow what I do. I am just sharing my wonderful experience with you. It has changed the way I see things. It has changed me into a better version of myself. Most importantly, it has healed me!


“Yoga does not transform the way we see things, it transforms the person who sees it”
— B.K.S Iyengar



2 thoughts on “Yoga changed me

  1. Thank you for your kind words Pam. Regular practise is the key to achieve what we’re looking for. Even if it’s not on a daily basis, schedule it and set aside 15-30mins for yoga & meditation. 🤗

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.